Materia Collective celebrates 17th anniversary of Final Fantasy VIII with new remix album

Materia Collective – the creative minds behind last year’s Final Fantasy VII Remixed album who formed following the announcement of Final Fantasy VII Remake at E3 2015 – have returned in time to celebrate the 17th anniversary of Final Fantasy VIII with a new release spanning six discs and hours of music.

The album, titled SUCCESSOR: Final Fantasy VIII Remixed, includes over 150 composers, arrangers, YouTube personalities, and others who have prepared their own interpretations of Final Fantasy VIII’s score originally composed by Nobuo Uematsu.

“After our debut album MATERIA, choosing Final Fantasy VIII as a follow-up tribute album was the next logical choice, and aligning the release with the game’s release anniversary seemed poignant,” Materia Collective founder Sebastian Wolff explained. “Final Fantasy VIII is musically distinct, and its eclectic mix of music suited our diverse skillsets. Materia Collective prides itself in the talent and dedication of its artists, so the 3-month album production cycle wasn’t a problem. We hope listeners enjoy the result.”

Featured artists include:
  • Dale North
  • Laura Intravia
  • Fredrik Häthén
  • Cris Gale
  • Elizabeth Zharoff
  • Rozen
  • David Saulesco
  • Triforce Quartet
  • Videri String Quartet
  • John Robert Matz
  • Rich Douglas

Those interested can purchase the album at Loudr, iTunes, Amazon MP3, and Google Play using some of the links below:

SUCCESSOR: Final Fantasy VIII Remixed on Loudr
SUCCESSOR: Final Fantasy VIII Remixed on iTunes
SUCCESSOR: Final Fantasy VIII Remixed on Spotify

For more information on SUCCESSOR and the music label Materia Collective, head on over to their official website.

About the Author

Erren Van Duine As a self-professed Final Fantasy fan, Erren created Nova Crystallis in 2009 as a place to collect the latest information on her favorite series. As owner and Editor-in-Chief, she also spends her time writing for RPG Site as Senior US Editor.