Square Enix has formed a Final Fantasy committee to ensure series quality

In an effort to bolster the quality of the Final Fantasy series going forward, Square Enix has deemed it necessary to bring together some of the franchise’s top creators in what they’re calling the “Final Fantasy Committee.”

According to a report by FF-Reunion, the committee will be headed by Yoshinori Kitase, Hajime Tabata, Naoki Yoshida and Motomu Toriyama. Details remain sparse, but their meetings will take place to ensure the quality of the FF series going forward. Long time series character designer and now director of Final Fantasy XV Tetsuya Nomura, however, appears to be separate from this initiative as his priorities lie within his ongoing schedule elsewhere.

Previously, Kitase worked on titles such as Final Fantasy VI, VII, VIII, X, the XIII series as well Crisis Core and FF Type-0. Hajime Tabata directed FF Type-0, Crisis Core, Before Crisis and is now co-director alongside Nomura for the upcoming FFXV. Naoki Yoshida’s talents are still quite new to the series, but he dragged FFXIV from the path of irrelevancy and turned it around in a near impossible feat. Motomu Toriyama has also been working on the series since Final Fantasy VII, although he is more well-known for his involvement in titles such as FFX, X-2 and the FFXIII trilogy.

Other Final Fantasy directors such as Akitoshi Kawazu (Final Fantasy II and XII), Takashi Tokita (FFIV), Hiroyuki Ito (Final Fantasy VI and XII) remain largely absent for reasons currently unknown.

About the Author

Erren Van Duine As a self-professed Final Fantasy fan, Erren created Nova Crystallis in 2009 as a place to collect the latest information on her favorite series. As owner and Editor-in-Chief, she also spends her time as a freelance illustrator.